Meet the Leadership

Meet the Leadership

Steering Committee


The Steering Committee is the Global Partnership’s multi-stakeholder governing body. It meets biannually to guide the work of the Global Partnership and ensure that it is carried out transparently, fully consulting each stakeholder group.

Steering Committee meeting documents are publicly available and can be found in the 'key documents' page as well as 'full events' page.

Steering Committee Members*

*The Steering Committee membership list is updated regularly

Representatives of recipients of development co-operation

Mr. Philippe Lasmel

Director General of Strategy and Aid Coordination, Ministry of Planning and Development, Côte d'Ivoire

Mrs. Nardos Bekele-Thomas 

Chief Executive Officer, African Union Development Agency (AUDA-NEPAD)

Ms. Adriana Mira

Deputy Minister, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, El Salvador

Mr. Shreekrishna Nepal

Joint Secretary, International Economic Cooperation Coordination Division (IECCD), Ministry of Finance, Nepal

Mr. Henry Cocker

Engagement Advisor - Sustainable Development, Pacific Islands Forum Secretariat

Mr. Mohamed Shire

Director General, Ministry of Planning, Investment and Economic Development, Somalia

Representative of recipients and providers of development co-operation

Ms. Eleonora Betancur and Mr. Alvaro Calderon

Executive Director, Presidential Agency for International Co-operation, Colombia

Director of International Co-operation, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Colombia

Mr. Jonathan L. Uy

OIC-Undersecretary, National Economic and Development Authority, Philippines

Representatives of providers of development co-operation

Mr. Won Do-yeon 

Director General, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Republic of Korea

Mr. Drew Smith

Director General for International Assistance Policy at Global Affairs, Canada

Ms. Marjeta Jager

Deputy Director-General, Directorate-General for International Partnerships, European Commission

Representative of the business sector

Mr. Antonio Hautle 

Executive Director, UN Global Compact Network, Switzerland & Liechtenstein

Representative of parliaments

Dr. Ali Bin Fetais Al-Marri

Chair, Global Organization of Parliamentarians against Corruption (GOPAC)

Representative of civil society

Mr. Richard Ssewakiryanga and Ms. Nurgul Dzhanaeva 

Co-Chairs of CSO Partnership for Development Effectiveness


Representative of multilateral development banks

Mr. Matias Bendersky

Manager, Office of Outreach and Partnerships, Inter-American Development Bank Group (IADB)

Representative of the UNDP/UN Development System

Mr. Oscar Fernandez-Taranco

Assistant Secretary-General for Development Coordination, UN Development Coordination Office (UN DCO)

Representative of the OECD/Development Assistance Committee

Mr. Carsten Staur

Chair of Development Assistance Committee, OECD

Representative of Arab providers of development co-operation

Mr. Fuad Albassam

Assistant Director-General, Public Sector Operations, OPEC Fund for International Development (OFID)

Representative of trade unions

Mr. Diego López González

Co-ordinator Development Policy, International Trade Union Confederation (ITUC)

Representative of foundations

Mr. Benjamin Bellegy

Executive Director, WINGS

Representative of sub-national governments

Mr. Berry Vrbanovic

Mayor of Kitchener and Treasurer of United Cities and Local Governments (UCLG)

Ex-officio members

Ms. Andrea Ries

Senior Policy Advisor, Focal Point Development Effectiveness in Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC) 

Mr. Farid Aziz

Additional Secretary, Wing Chief, Development Effectiveness Wing, Economic Relations Division, Ministry of Finance